January 30, 2017 (after dinner)

*Our dishwasher is broken. The repair guy is supposed to come tomorrow with a new pump… ’til then, I’m on my own. I’ve washed four sinkfuls of dishes today alone- not a big deal, but enough to make me not want to wash many more dishes tonight. I put my big pan in the sink to soak, full of hot, soapy, greasy water. We had a friend over for dinner, and while Isobel was still finishing, I went into the kitchen to put my dish in the sink, and run more hot water in the pan. To my surprise and slight dismay, someone had tossed a dish in the sink, slopping greasy, sudsy water all over the counter, floor, and down the front of the dishwasher and cabinets. Normally this wouldn’t be a big deal, but I just had my hip replaced two months ago and am not quite back up to snuff yet. I went back to the porch and said to the boys…*

“I don’t care which one of you did it, but I am NOT cleaning up the mess by the sink. Please go take care of it.”

*I sat back next to Isobel, who was still eating her broccoli. She asked me what happened, so I explained. And with a knowing nod and slight shrug, she looked right at me, and with a perfectly straight face, said…*

“Boys.”

I laughed so hard I nearly fell off the chair.

f981b70ce8cca691579727eb07d84433

 

Leave a Reply

