January 6, 2016

*On the way home from school today, we see a beautifully restored little red pickup truck parked on the street. I point it out to Is and tell her that I like old cars- they’re so cool, with details like fins and split windshields and pointy taillights…*

“Pointy lights?”
“Yeah, they look kind of like rockets…”
“Wow. A. in school has shoes that light up!”
“Oh yeah?”
“Yeah. You should buy me those.”
“Wait a second. Isn’t that the kid who pushed you and made you cry? I thought you didn’t like him very much. So, why would you want shoes like his?”
“Well, I don’t really like him. But he could keep his shoes and you could buy me new ones.”

10649469_601632746644473_8267551158451295884_n

Leave a Reply

